Texas Mu Phi Epsilon

Butler School of Music - University of Texas at Austin

"To advance music in the community, nation, and throughout the world; to promote musicianship, scholarship, therapy, and education, with emphasis on service through music; and to enhance loyalty to the Alma Mater and develop true bonds of friendship."

Austin Alumni Chapter

We are very thankful to have such a caring and helpful Alumni Chapter here at the Butler School of Music! They have achieved many accomplishments since they were founded, and they continue to support our organization by providing scholarships and opportunities that benefit our chapter. 

Contact Information

If you would like updates about the Austin Alumni Chapter, like/follow their Facebook page:


For any questions regarding their chapter, please contact their chapter president, Carmen Guerra:



Outstanding Alumni Members

Martha MacDonald

Martha MacDonald has served on the International Executive Board as Collegiate Advisor, 4th-Vice President/Music Advisor, and the Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation Board of Directors. She is an active chamber musician and has performed throughout the United States and Europe as clarinetist with the Austin Chamber Ensemble.

melissa eddy.jpg

Melissa J. Eddy

Melissa Eddy currently serves as the International Editor and Webmaster of Mu Phi Epsilon. Through her expertise, The Triangle, the official quarterly journal of Mu Phi Epsilon, has been updated with fantastic articles showcasing Mu Phi Epsilon and its talented members to the world. 

Carole Marie Harris

Winner of the 1986 Mu Phi Epsilon International Competition on violin. She currently performs in the Stravanger Symphony Orchestra in Stravanger, Norway. 

marilyn harris.jpg

Marilyn Harris

Winner of the 1995 Mu Phi Epsilon International Competition on cello. She currently works at the University of Texas at Austin as an Alumni/Constituent Relations Coordinator in the Mechanical Engineering Department.

Awards and Accomplishments

Outstanding Alumni Chapter of the Year

Province winner: 1979, 1980, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992, 1997, 2001

Circle winner: 1997

Chapter winner: 1993, 2006